Official Aiden Tolman

Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
12,098
Reaction score
45
Location
victoria
yes, he was third man in and went low

wasnt penalised at the time but he got suspended as dsaf is injured

Santa needs to bring some more HD TVs, cause like you it was ole mates only intention to go at the ball, I can see how checchin missed it lots of bodies and arms, but on slomo pretty obvious..
 

bort

Jaws
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
18,630
Reaction score
204
Location
perth, WA
Tolman in trouble for cannonball tackle? is it that thing I recall on replay where he landed on the blokes ankle that looked completely accidental????

fmd it's a contact sport with bodies in motion , those bodies have to land somewhere they are not supposed to at pace accidentally on occasion


Yes the tackle that injured Siafiti

He shoots at the hip but Siafiti's forward momentum results in Tolman falling on his leg.

You could probably argue either way whether it is onus on defender not to make dangerous leg contact vs whether it is just an accidental outcome of standard tackle attempt which was not made in a dangerous way. Was not penalised by ref or by bunker on review in game so I assume they will both be addressed for missing foul play if it is such a dangerous act.

Siafiti then goes down a minute later when we have ball and some momentum and is allowed to walk unassisted off field. Yes he did drop down which is a concern but an injury that has already been assessed and allowed to stay on field which was not endangering player and still allowed him to walk unassisted from the field isn't really what I want to see stoppages for. Obviously from refs perspective someone dropping down in D line has to be treated as a concern though.

This very similar tackle by Victor the Inflictor was not charged https://www.facebook.com/nrlphysio/posts/899579384014278 and did the kids ACL although obviously the much more dangerous dive at Kelly's legs (that caused no significant injury) was charged. Consistency.
 

Proud Shark

Great White
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
36
Not the way I saw it mate.


I'm with you. His hand was 100% on the ball but the stripping motion was hunt trying to pull his arms down for a quick ptb. I don't think there was any intent to strip.
 

Chad

Jaws
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
14,937
Reaction score
99
Location
The Ridge!
i am dreading old age if it does that to your eye sight

You’ve got a long way to go mate before old age.

For the record I have needed glasses since I was in Year 10, but they were firmly on last Sunday.

Seriously though, what did you think of the held call that we were penalised for? Yes Cecchin called held but do you agree he called it way too early?
 

Chad

Jaws
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
14,937
Reaction score
99
Location
The Ridge!
I'm with you. His hand was 100% on the ball but the stripping motion was hunt trying to pull his arms down for a quick ptb. I don't think there was any intent to strip.

Thanks PS, much appreciated. It was a true BS call.
 

bort

Jaws
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
18,630
Reaction score
204
Location
perth, WA
I'm with you. His hand was 100% on the ball but the stripping motion was hunt trying to pull his arms down for a quick ptb. I don't think there was any intent to strip.

I hate the ones where the defender tries to strip the ball and then the inertia of their arm coming off it causes the ball carrier to lose it just afterwards so technically they drop the ball after the strip attempt
Then bunker and commentators (technically correct to rules but it's what I don't like) carry on about how it was a loose carry and just dropped like the drop wasn't 100% caused by the defenders actions on the ball just 1 slow-mo frame earlier.

To me this one with Woods looked more like he was making some ball contact but loose carry and actions of Hunt were bigger contributors to the drop than the fact Woods had a hand on the ball (looked more like trying to lock it up than strip it from memory but haven't rewatched it)
 

Chad

Jaws
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
14,937
Reaction score
99
Location
The Ridge!
Well, well, well.

Looks like I’m not the only “blind” man.

I think you need your eyes checked Snowy.
 

apezza

Oceanic Whitetip Shark
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
974
Reaction score
9
You’ve got a long way to go mate before old age.

For the record I have needed glasses since I was in Year 10, but they were firmly on last Sunday.

Seriously though, what did you think of the held call that we were penalised for? Yes Cecchin called held but do you agree he called it way too early?

Was called way too early however we all heard him call held so they should of released. Just another dumb play from Sharks.
 

apezza

Oceanic Whitetip Shark
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
974
Reaction score
9
I'm with you. His hand was 100% on the ball but the stripping motion was hunt trying to pull his arms down for a quick ptb. I don't think there was any intent to strip.

I think touch and go on Woods however he has done things like this in the past (which always get penalised) so I'm happy to err on the side that it was deliberate.
 

Super Impose

Great White
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
2,996
Reaction score
13
Location
The Hill
You’ve got a long way to go mate before old age.

For the record I have needed glasses since I was in Year 10, but they were firmly on last Sunday.

Seriously though, what did you think of the held call that we were penalised for? Yes Cecchin called held but do you agree he called it way too early?

Clearly still momentum in the tackle and called way too early by the ref.

You see it every game and a line drop out is called - except when we do it …
 

snowman

Total gronk
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
56,012
Reaction score
313
Location
In your head, rent free
woods has his hand on the point of the ball and pulled his arm back

its as blatant as a strip you will find

as for the held call, its the refs interpretation and ceccs called held, **** all you can do about it
 

Gards

Jaws
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
15,855
Reaction score
120
Location
At the Tucky
I only saw the replays during the game but I agreed with the commentators at the time that mentioned a stripping motion from Woods - you see this with the way his hand/arm reacts. even if It pissed me off cause it gave away a penalty and newy went on all day getting their ****ing captains challenges to work for them and overturn decisions we could have used handy to go our way and we burned our CC straight up

BUT the strip call on Woods was ultimately prob right
 

Wizard

Great White
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,215
Reaction score
13
I only saw the replays during the game but I agreed with the commentators at the time that mentioned a stripping motion from Woods - you see this with the way his hand/arm reacts. even if It pissed me off cause it gave away a penalty and newy went on all day getting their ****ing captains challenges to work for them and overturn decisions we could have used handy to go our way and we burned our CC straight up

BUT the strip call on Woods was ultimately prob right

Woods has his hand all over it - an Aaron Woods classic, he even grins when the call is turned over
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
40
Location
Sydney
I from time to time listen to the Rush with MG podcasts when I'm out walking the dog and he mentioned the excellent form Woodsy is currently in.

Someone doesn't watch Sharks games
 

Gards

Jaws
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
15,855
Reaction score
120
Location
At the Tucky
Woodsy goes on the rush hour from time to time and gets interviewed by the team

MG is scratching his back

Also prob doesn't watch sharks games lol
 
Top